News Post

Stepping Up Ceremony 2018

Stepping Up 2018

The following students won awards at the 2018 Stepping Up ceremony held in All Saints' Chapel on Friday afternoon, May 25th. Stepping Up is considered the School's in-house Commencement. We bid farewell to the seniors and usher the underclassmen up to the next grade level. Of all the unique ceremonies at Trinity-Pawling, Stepping Up is the most poignant, steeped in a century of tradition. Following the awards, leadership of the student body is transferred from the old prefects to the new prefects who are announced at the close of the service.

Prefects for 2018-2019, the School's highest leadership position for students, are determined by vote of the student body and the faculty. Every vote is counted; the boy who receives the most votes is named the Head Prefect, and the second most votes is the Junior Prefect. Congratulations to the following rising seniors, who were voted Prefects for the 2018-2019 school year!

Next year's Prefects: John Garvey, Head Prefect; Robby Phillips, Junior Prefect, Jack Haims; Nolan Laplante; Ryan McBeth; Will Rickert; and Evan Ruschil.




Congratulations to the following award winners:

Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award // Humanities/Social Science Award   Robert Frederick Phillips

Environmental Science Award  Joonseo Mark Yang

Mayflower Award  Nolan Sebastien Laplante

Excellence in History (Senior)  Marc Gregory Welch

Colhoun History Essay Prize  Ryan William Allan McBeth

Religion Award  Ryan Zachary Devanny

Biology Award    Xiangjin Zhang

Chemistry Award    Benjamin R. Verdesi

Elliot Prize in Senior Mathematics   Xiangjin Zhang

Rensselaer Medal   Ziqing Wang

Bausch and Lomb Award   Zewen Zhao

Ernest J. Reiter Award for Physical Science   Junhan Yan

Norwood L. Pinder Prize in Journalism   Jack Elio Irwin

Excellence in Theater   Benjamin James-Ki Yoon

Penn Book Award    Chengzhen Meng

Harvard Prize Book   Zixian Jia

George Eastman Young Leaders Award   Yin Jiang

Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology   Yunpeng Li

RIT Computing Medal Award   Tyler James Marma

RIT Innovation and Creativity Award   Evan Ulmer Ruschil

St. Lawrence Book Award   William Robert Rickert

Saint Anselm College Book Award   John Michael Garvey

Kenyon College Presidential Book Award  John Howard Haims

Outstanding Achievement in Junior Global Collaborative Project   Hongru Bi, Joao Eduardo Gonzalez, Nolan Laplante, Ryan McBeth, and Chengzhen Meng                                                                                           

Outstanding Achievement in Senior Independent Project  Matthew Bradford Ernster

Honor Students in Each Class:

Grade Nine   Peilun Li

Grade Ten   Tianyi Shao

Grade Eleven   Ziqing Wang

Grade Twelve  Xiangjin Zhang

Colhoun Award to Most Improved Freshman   Nolan Blake MacLear

Hastings Award to Most Improved Sophomore   Daniel Joseph Csaszar

Citizenship Awards:

Freshman (Duncan Pyle ’86)    Peter James Claro

Sophomore (Scott Carlin ’11)   Henry Howland Daniel

Junior  Nolan Sebastien Laplante

Senior   Charles Michael Csaszar