News Post

Trinity-Pawling School 111th Commencement

Trinity-Pawling School
111th Commencement
May 26, 2018

On Saturday, May 26, 2018, Trinity-Pawling School held its 111th Commencement exercises and celebrated the graduation of 89 students. Congratulations to the Class of 2018!

Headmaster William W. Taylor introduced the ceremony, which featured a number of speakers, and the presentation of awards and diplomas. Among the speakers was Mr. Shayne M. Skov ’09, who gave the Commencement Address. Skov attended Trinity-Pawling from 2006 to 2009 and served as football captain and head prefect during this time. He matriculated to Stanford University where he contributed to winning football seasons as a four year starting linebacker, captained back to back appearances in the Rose Bowl, and graduated with a degree in Management Science and Engineering. A Stanford Senior Excellence Award winner and All-American, Skov went on to play in the NFL for the San Francisco 49ers, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and the New Orleans Saints. Shayne is always focused on giving back to his Mexican roots in both providing Spanish commentary during Super Bowl 56 and 57, as well as hosting annual youth camps for underprivileged youth across Mexico.

Xiangjin Zhang delivered the valedictory address, and Joseph Henry Webber spoke as Head Prefect. The diplomas were presented by Board President Mrs. Elizabeth P. Allen.

View the Trinity-Pawling 111th Commencement Ceremony Program >



Valedictorian for the Class of 2018  Xiangjin Zhang

French  Nathan Christopher Tanner

Spanish  Marc Gregory Welch

Anderson Prize in Latin  Charles Michael Csaszar

Art  Ho Sen Cheung

Instrumental Music Award  Xander di Santo

Vocal Music Award  Junhan Yan

Henderson Prize in English   Joseph Henry Webber

Archibald A. Smith III Mandarin and Chinese Studies Award   Min Sang Ki

Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award &    Robert Frederick Phillips
Humanities/Social Science Award                                              

Environmental Science Award   Joonseo Mark Yang

Mayflower Award  Nolan Sebastien Laplante

Excellence in History (Senior)  Marc Gregory Welch

Colhoun History Essay Prize  Ryan William Allan McBeth

Religion Award   Ryan Zachary Devanny

Biology Award   Xiangjin Zhang

Chemistry Award  Benjamin R. Verdesi

Elliot Prize in Senior Mathematics   Xiangjin Zhang

Rensselaer Medal  Ziqing Wang

Bausch and Lomb Award  Zewen Zhao

Ernest J. Reiter Award for Physical Science  Junhan Yan  

Excellence in Theater  Benjamin James-Ki Yoon

Penn Book Award  Chengzhen Meng

Harvard Prize Book  Zixian Jia

George Eastman Young Leaders Award  Yin Jiang

Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology  Yunpeng Li

RIT Computing Medal Award   Tyler James Marma

RIT Innovation and Creativity Award   Evan Ulmer Ruschil

St. Lawrence Book Award     William Robert Rickert

Saint Anselm College Book Award    John Michael Garvey

Kenyon College Presidential Book Award   John Howard Haims

Outstanding Achievement in Senior Independent Project   Matthew Bradford Ernster



Dunbar Award for Service

The Dunbar Award for Service is given each year by Bill and Helene Dunbar who spent more than 30 years at Trinity-Pawling as Assistant Headmaster and librarian respectively. Not long after their retirement in 1978, the Dunbar Award for Service was created to honor their service to the School and to recognize those members of the community, be it a student, a faculty member, a spouse, a staff member, or a friend who served the School with the same steadfast devotion. James Weston Kellogg

Headmaster's Award for Excellence  Matthew Bradford Ernster

Tennant Drama Award

The Tennant Drama Award is donated each year by Mrs. John S. Tennant whose sons graduated in 1950 and 1954. Four of her grandsons are also Trinity-Pawling graduates.  Nathan Christopher Tanner

Kevin Neal Acrish Award

The Kevin Neal Acrish Award is given annually to the Junior Prefect, in honor of the life and legacy of Kevin Acrish, class of 1990.  Kyle Erickson Miller


Norwood L. Pinder Prize in Journalism

The Norwood L. Pinder Prize for Excellence in Journalism was established in 2006 to recognize at Commencement the outstanding contributions of a student to the journalistic enterprise on campus. Named after the first editor of The Phoenix in 1908, the original literary journal and yearbook of the Pawling School, this prize honors Pinder's legacy of giving voice to the life of the School.  Jack Elio Irwin

Gatchell Sportsmanship Award

The Creighton E. Gatchell Sportsmanship Award, donated in memory of Creighton, class of 1961, by his brother Bill, a member of the class of 1963, is given to a member of the senior class who best exemplifies Creighton's love for sports and his level of sportsmanship.  Chizurum Umunakwe

Kenneth B. Weeman Athletic Award

The Kenneth B. Weeman Athletic Award is given by his widow and sons, members of classes in 1959 and 1961, and his grandson, a member of the class of 1991. Factors to be considered are the individual sense of sportsmanship, demonstrated leadership, personal commitment to the athletic program, and to the traditions of Trinity-Pawling School.  Marc Gregory Welch

Senior Citizenship

By vote of the faculty, the Senior Citizenship Award is given to the young man in the class of 2014 who displays exemplary citizenship. Citizenship is like art; it is hard to describe but we all know it when we see it. Citizenship is that ability to be thoughtful, helpful, patient, kind, respectful, and courteous...all in the right amount, at the right time, and with the right amount of sincerity. Charles Michael Csaszar

McCollum Award

The McCollum Award is named for the first Head Prefect of Trinity-Pawling, Franklin McCollum, class of 1950. Mr. McCollum never forgot the lasting impact that Trinity-Pawling had on his life and that of his classmates. To be Head Prefect is even more demanding as all of this has to be done with the added burden of knowing what to say and what to do while leading the class of 2015 each day.  Joseph Henry Webber

Wells Award

The Wells Award, named for its donor, a member of the class in 1938, is presented annually to the student who combines outstanding performance and growth in all areas of life at Trinity-Pawling School. Character, a concern for and service to others, loyalty and dedication to the established traditions of the school are among the criteria for determining the award.  Jie Wen

Matthew E. Dann Award for General Excellence

Dr. Matthew E. Dann was headmaster of Trinity-Pawling School 1946 to 1970. This award is given annually by his family and friends recognize the outstanding boy in the junior class.  Evan Ulmer Ruschil

Eugene O. Colley Award for Leadership

Gene Colley has been involved with Trinity-Pawling School for more than 30 years as a parent of four graduates and since 1978 as a trustee. Long before he had an official role in school, in his typical fashion of "getting the job done", he commandeered the necessary forces to restore electricity to the campus after the 1969 fire which nearly leveled the south end of Cluett. Without Gene's leadership, the school would have closed for a year or perhaps longer. "It cannot be done" is not a phrase which he cares to hear.  Nathan Christopher Tanner

Gamage Award for General Excellence

The Gamage Award, named for Frederick Luther Gamage, founder and first headmaster of the Pawling School, is awarded by vote of the faculty to a member of the senior class whose overall record is one of General Excellence.  Joseph Henry Webber